Odds Of My Odyssey

Through lustrous greens and misty blues,

Through tints of joy and blessed hues,

I meander through widespread plains,

The grassy tundra with yellow stains

Of daisies and daffodils in the meadows

And evergreen plants and their evergreen shadows,

Through green grasses and grassy greens,

Spotting frolicking swans and dasheens,

The path intriguingly bends right,

Alit by the Sun ever so bright,

I wonder, “Is this a reverie?”

As I sweep through my odyssey.

 

Then come the sandy rolling plains,

An empty land with barren chains,

Of rocks and scarps and dunes of brown,

Embellished with the residual crown,

The sandy warmth sinks in my feet,

And ,slowly, the sands do retreat,

When my feet sink into the land,

And are gently welcomed by the sand,

The excursion of the camels, I see,

The oasis cordially welcomes me.

I wonder, “Is this a reverie?”

As I sweep through my odyssey.

 

Then come the high snow-capped peaks,

Where the traveller circuitously seeks,

The secrets of the winter breeze

And of the cold, sprawling ease

That sways amidst the valleys

While the glacier intricately tallies

The articulate beauty of the rocky slopes

That enliven dreams and strengthen hopes

The mountains rise high above the ground,

With aims high, and bases, sound.

I wonder, “Is this a reverie?”

As I sweep through my odyssey.

 

The beautiful odds that took me through

Grasslands, deserts and mountains, too,

I look back at these memories,

That cascade down through reveries,

And my mind’s eye, I see,

Rewinded before me, my odyssey.

Leave a Reply

